Well, that was a thing.

2 February 2012 § Leave a comment

I survived the first week!  Actually, I came out of it in better shape than most of the professors and administrators in the music department – they’re still sweating in their offices, signing last-minute forms, sending emails, and hoping desperately that no more students will show up with convoluted issues requiring immediate resolution…I, on the other hand, might actually be done for the week!  Er, probably.  Hopefully.

The fruit of my labors:  a final(ish) schedule!  I have fifteen credits – for which I’m registered, anyway – plus a class which I’ll be auditing informally.  Drumroll, please…

Academic classes:
– ProTools I – basically, “how to use ProTools” and the basics of MIDI.  I’m really excited for this one – the professor is incredible, one of the best music tech guys in Egypt, and at the end of the class you’re actually prepared to take the proficiency/certification exam that Digidesign (the makers of ProTools) offers.  I’ve already done similar coursework with Logic (another DAW, for the uninitiated), so it shouldn’t be terribly challenging but should be terribly interesting and fun.  Any class where you spend your time playing with drum machines and editing music is more than fine by me…
– Music in Film – there’s been some drama with this one, actually, but I think it’s settled now.  The course time has changed three times now, and I was aware of none of these changes until an hour ago, at which point I found out that (a) it’ll be offered at 3.30p, not 2p, and (b) there’s no session this week (it’s a once-weekly course) because of said drama.  So I have no idea what to expect with this class, but I’m optimistic.  This is actually the first time it’s being taught here, and it’s a new prof, so I’m enjoying the sensation of guinea-pig-dom…
– Music Theory I – after four semesters of music theory with my old enemies Aldwell & Schachter and several whacks at it on my own, I pretty much understand nothing about theory.  Technically, I shouldn’t need this course, but I’m sitting in on it anyway.  Maybe I can finally get somewhere with it!

Private lessons:
– Conducting, with my dad.  We’ve actually had two lessons already – so far, so good!
– Piano – no prof assigned yet (part of the first-week madness, alas), but Dad claims that it will be good.  Personally, I have to admit that I really miss my old teacher from Columbia and would very much like to be studying with him.  (He was a great guy and – probably more importantly – had the patience of a saint, a critical requirement for anyone sitting with me at a piano.)  But I’m cautiously optimistic (and nervous already about the jury).
– Voice, with Dr. Neveen!  She said that she wanted to work with me literally as soon as she heard that I was coming to Egypt, which made me very happy because working with her was part of the reason I came.  I miss my old teacher, Patricia, very, very much, and I’d like to be studying with her, but as I lack the money to do so, this is my best option.  Insha’allah I will get to work with Patricia again someday, and in the meantime, Dr. Neveen is a wonderful teacher and I’m very much looking forward to starting with her.  Now, if only I had a voice…

Choirs:
– The chamber choir here at AUC.  I’m TA-ing this as well as singing in it (assuming the paperwork ever goes through – ack!), so it’s actually kind of in conjunction with the conducting lessons.  It’s a lovely group – ten ladies, some really beautiful voices, and interesting rep, so I’m excited!
– The Cairo Choral Society, which is actually a community chorus “in residence” at AUC (I think that’s the official relationship, anyway).  I’m their librarian, might wind up doing sectionals with them, and am singing soprano.  They’re a great group of people (though not quite on par with the Summit Chorale vocally) and they also do good rep – Brahms right now (!!!) and this and that for a combined concert with another choir in April.  I think that rep is still being selected, actually, but all the possible choices have sounded good to me…

So, that’s my semester.  (Probably.)  Hope you’re all having a lovely Thursday; enjoy your weekend (or, er, Fridays, lol) and stories of classes will come soon…

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Well, that was a thing. at Repeating Insh'Allah.

meta